Budapest Festival Orchestra
November 28, 2017

We present the winners of this year’s Sándor Végh competition!

Once again, the Budapest Festival Orchestra organised its in-house Sándor Végh competition, this year between 25th and 27th November. The grand prize was a soloist performance at one of the BFO’s concerts during the 2018-19 season. We offer our congratulations to all the participating musicians.

The performers and performances for this year’s competition were as follows:

Dávid Bereczky, french horn

Richard Strauss: Horn Concerto No. 2 in E flat major, Op.11.

Zsolt Fejérvári, double-bass

Bottesini: Concerto No. 2 in B minor for double bass

Gábor Sipos, violin

John Corigliano: The Red Violin

Rudolf Szitka, clarinet

C.M. von Weber: Clarinet Quintet in B flat major (version for string orchestra)

The musicians were given a free choice of solo or chamber pieces with which to compete. This year’s jury consisted of conductor Iván Fischer, music director of the BFO; bassoonist György Lakatos, a key figure in contemporary music; violinist György Pauk, professor of the Royal Academy of Music; András Vass, conductor of the Pannon Philharmonic Orchestra; and conductor Gergely Dubóczky.