Switch to mobile view

About the program

The Budapest Festival Orchestra has announced its traditional, biennial Sándor Végh Competition. The concert series provides the musicians of the BFO with an opportunity to give prominence to their individual abilities before a prestigious jury by performing a composition of their own choice. The stakes are high: the winners will be featured as the soloists of next season’s Haydn–Mozart Plus series.

The semi-finals and the final take place at the Selmeci Street rehearsal hall between 20 and 22 February. This year’s jury comprises conductor Iván Fischer, musical director of the BFO; violist György Konrád, who is regularly featured with the BFO; bassoonist György Lakatos, a prominent actor of the contemporary music scene; oboist Lajos Lencsés , soloist with the Stuttgart Radio Symphony Orchestra; violinist Tamás Major, the BFO’s leader; and András Vass, conductor of the Pannon Philharmonic.

Iván Fischer on the Sándor Végh Competition: www.bfz.hu/videos/aveghsandorversenyrol

The competition is open to the public, and audience votes will be much appreciated. To register, send an email to rendeles@bfz.hu, or call Orsolya Bagi at +36 1489-4332.

Joseph Haydn: cello concerto in C major

Lajos Dvorák (cello)

Péter Wolf: Journey

Mária Gál-Tamási (violin)

Gioacchino Rossini: Bassoon concerto

Andrea Bressan (bassoon)

Johann Baptist Vanhal: Double bass concerto in D major

Zsolt Fejérvári (double bass)

Joseph Haydn: Horn concerto no. 2 in D major

András Szabó (horn)


Joseph Haydn: Cello concerto in C major
Péter Wolf: Journey
Gioacchino Rossini: Bassoon concerto
Johann Baptist Vanhal: Double bass concerto in D major
Joseph Haydn: Horn concerto no. 2 in D major


Lajos Dvorák, cello
Mária Gál-Tamási, violin
Andrea Bressan, bassoon
Zsolt Fejérvári, double bass
András Szabó, horn