Switch to mobile view

About the program

The concert will open with Bach’s Suite No. 2 in B minor, BWV 1067, is undoubtedly one of the most popular compositions in music history. It is thought to have been composed around 1721 in Köthen, though other sources suggest a later date, during the composer’s time in Leipzig.
The next piece a Bach cantata, Es reisset euch ein schrecklich Ende (BWV 90), which Bach first performed in November 1723 in Leipzig. The third piece of the concert, Brandenburg Voncerto No. 5, is the first piece of music in the history that features a keyboard solo.
The concert will conclude with the cantata Ich armer Mensch, ich Sündenknecht (BWV 55), which was first performed on 17 November 1726, Bach’s fourth year in Leipzig, at the 22nd Sunday mass following Trinity, and is Bach’s only cantata for tenor solo. The poet of the cantata text is unknown.

The program will be performed by the Baroque Ensemble of the Budapest Festival Orchestra.


Johann Sebastian Bach: Suite in B minor
Johann Sebastian Bach: Cantata „Es reisset euch ein schrecklich Ende”, BWV 90
Johann Sebastian Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 5
Johann Sebastian Bach: Cantata „Ich armer Mensch, ich Sündenknecht”, BWV 55


Eszter Lesták Bedő


Gabriella Szili, soprano
Atala Schöck, alto
Kevin Skelton, tenor
István Kovács, bass
Dóra Ombodi, flute
Soma Dinyés, harpsichord