Switch to mobile view

About the program

Change of program

The world-famous Norwegian cellist, Truls Mork performs Shostakovich’s Second Cello Concerto. The work, which counts as a cornerstone of 20th century cello music, was written during the spring of 1966 – Shostakovich dedicated it to Mstislav Rostropovich, just as he had done with his First Cello Concerto. The concerto, bearing the hallmarks of the mature Shostakovich, also premiered the same year at a concert organised to celebrate the composer’s 60th birthday.

Prokofiev composed his Sixth Symphony in 1947, which he set as a monument to the tragedy of World War II. The composer described the basic thought behind the work by saying that even in the euphoria of a great victory, one should not forget the incurable injuries that have been incurred. Despite positive reviews, Prokofiev’s symphony fell victim to the 1948 Zhdanov Decree, and the composer was accused of writing a composition out of line with Party directives. The work only found its way into the concert repertoire following the death of Stalin (and Prokofiev).


2 700 HUF / 4 800 HUF / 6 200 HUF / 8 800 HUF / 14 300 HUF

Season tickets

Reiner A, Reiner B


Jean Sibelius: Lemminkäinen’s Return (Lemminkäinen Suite, Op.22)
Dmitri Shostakovich: Cello Concerto No. 2
Sergei Prokofiev: Symphony No. 6 in E flat minor


Pietari Inkinen


Truls Mørk, cello