Switch to mobile view

About the program

The BFO will be putting short but extremely popular works under their audience’s Christmas tree. Gábor Takács-Nagy has chosen works from a century’s worth of music.

The early version of Beethoven’s Fidelio was still entitled Leonore. The composer wrote four distinct overtures to the composition during his reworking of the score. The most important elements of the opera’s plot are given in the third Leonore Overture, which will be performed this time.

The resounding success of the Norwegian play Peer Gynt can be attributed as much to Ibsen’s genius as to Grieg’s music. The suite, compiled from the flashiest parts of the stage music, quickly found its way into concert halls.

Tchaikovsky composed the Variations on a Rococo Theme for cello and orchestra in 1876, for the cellist Wilhelm Fitzenhagen. The piece, which consists of seven variations, has become a fundamental part of the cello repertoire.

Saint-Saëns’ biblically themed opera is perhaps the most often played of the romantic operas. Symphony orchestras also love performing the oriental colours of the famous ballet scene, the bacchanale.

Paul Dukas’ most famous work is an orchestral Scherzo based on a ballad by Goethe, which employs orchestral means to tell the story of the literary work.

Ravel originally composed Ma mere l’Oye for piano four hands, but orchestrated it in 1912 for the ballet stage. The ballet music has been one of the most popular pieces of his oeuvre ever since.

Impressions of a journey in four movements. Mendelssohn’s symphony recalls his experiences, moods and flavours of his stay in Scotland. The hymnal end to the symphony’s last movement is a perfect concert finale.


2 700 HUF / 4 800 HUF / 6 200 HUF / 8 800 HUF / 14 300 HUF

Season tickets



Ludwig van Beethoven: Leonore Overture No. 3
Edvard Grieg: Peer Gynt Suite No. 1
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Variations on a Rococo Theme, Op. 33
Camille Saint-Saëns: Bacchanale from Samson and Delilah
Paul Dukas: The Sorcerer’s Apprentice
Maurice Ravel: Ma mère l’Oye
Felix Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 3 in A minor ‘Scottish’, 4th movement


Gábor Takács-Nagy


István Várdai, cello