Switch to mobile view

About the program

It is not without reason that artists from all over the world used to love going to Paris, to go hungry, languish and gather experiences – no place on Earth could have been more exciting. Our concert takes a light-hearted trip through time, to the French capital of the 20th century.

Debussy’s inspiration was Mallarmé’s poem L’apres-midi d’un faune (The Afternoon of a Faun), published in 1876. The young composer, who knew the poet, managed to grasp the dreamlike atmosphere of Mallarmé’s poem perfectly.

“All in all the piece grows somewhat like a tree,” said Henri Dutilleux of his violin concerto in four movements and three interludes. This symbolic trope, and the cyclical changing of the seasons, inspired the composer.

One of the places in which Erik Satie’s eccentricity manifested itself was in the strange titles he gave to his works. He wrote two of his three short Gymnopédies, each with their own special atmosphere, in 1888, while the third followed a few years later. The Gymnopaedia was a traditional, several-day-long Spartan festival that focused on music and gymnastics. Claude Debussy, Satie’s friend, orchestrated two of the Gymnopédies in 1896.

The piano piece ‘Pavane for a Dead Princess’ was the first of Ravel’s masterpieces, composing it as he did during his academy years. He orchestrated the piece in 1910.

Alongside Ma mere l’Oye (Mother Goose), the composer considered Daphnis et Chloé to be his most important work for the stage. The story, which takes place on the island of Lesbos, concerns the initiation of two innocent youths into the hardships of life and love. The second suite, compiled from the ballet’s music in 1913, is regularly performed in concert halls.

This programme is part of the Bridging Europe festival.




2 700 HUF / 4 800 HUF / 6 200 HUF / 8 800 HUF / 14 300 HUF

Season tickets

Solti A, Solti B


Claude Debussy: Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune
Henri Dutilleux: L’arbre des songes
Erik SatieClaude Debussy: Gymnopédies
Maurice Ravel: Pavane pour une infante défunte
Maurice Ravel: Daphnis et Chloé – suite No. 2


Iván Fischer


Ning Feng, violin