Switch to mobile view

About the program

Mozart composed his last complete instrumental opus, the Clarinet concerto, K. 622 in between the composition of his last two works for the stage, La Clemenza di Tito, written in an incredibly short time for the coronation of Holy Roman Emperor Leopold II in Prague, and The Magic Flute. The concerto is dedicated to his good friend and fellow freemason, the virtuoso clarinetist Anton Stadler. Musicologists believe that the work was finished some time before October 1791. It was premiered on October 16, at Stadler’s charity concert in Prague.
Myths and legends abounded for centuries over the genesis of Mozart’s keystone work, Requiem, K. 626. However, researchers now believe they have finally uncovered the truth. In 1964 the great musicologist, Otto Erich Deutsch, found unquestionable evidence which showed it was Count Franz von Walsegg who sent Mozart the commission through a mysterious messenger. The count had a predilection for commissioning compositions, only to copy them and present them as his own work. One of the best known fragmentary works in the history of music, the Requiem is usually performed with the completion of his pupil Süssmayr.


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Per questa bella mano
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Clarinet concerto in A major
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Requiem


Iván Fischer


Lucy Crowe, soprano
Barbara Kozelj, contralto
Jeremy Ovenden, tenor
Hanno Müller-Brachmann, bass
Ács Ákos, clarinet
Fejérvári Zsolt, double-bass