Switch to mobile view

About the program

Stravinsky’s Jeu de cartes (Card Game) was written in 1936 for the American Ballet to a libretto by the composer and M. Malaev, with choreography by George Balanchine. Today’s concert presents the suite in three ‘deals’ which follow each other attacca. All three begin with a march-like introduction, symbolising the shuffling and dealing of the cards. The protagonists are all cards in a game of poker, where the joker disturbs the peace. Jeu de cartes premiered in New York in 1937.


Igor Stravinsky: Jeu de cartes
Béla Bartók: Piano Concerto No. 3 in E major
Antonín Dvořák: Symphony No. 8 in G major


Iván Fischer