Switch to mobile view

About the program

“I wrote diligently, but not entirely correctly, until I had the good fortune to learn the true fundamentals of composition from the celebrated Porpora. Finally, due to a recommendation from the late von Fürnberg, I was appointed as director to Count Morzin…” wrote Haydn in 1776, having already served the Esterházy family for fifteen years by then. The composer directed Count Morzin’s court orchestra between 1758-59 and 1761, during which period he also produced pieces for the ensemble as court composer. Haydn, often referred to as ‘the father of the symphony’ wrote his first works in that genre around that time. To this day, music historians struggle to pin-point the chronology of his first symphonies. What is certain however, is that this early, three-movement symphony dates from the period in which he was serving under Count Morzin.

“You don’t know just how well you play the violin” – wrote Leopold Mozart to his son, Wolfgang, in 1777. We’ll never know whether Wolfgang actually needed this encouragement or if he knew full well of his own abilities. In any case, it is well-known that Wolfgang regarded the piano as his primary instrument. While he had composed five brilliant violin concertos, and movements from his unfinished ones still survive, he never really returned to the genre in later life. He probably wrote the concertos only for himself, although there is a conflicting theory which postulates that the works were dedicated to Antonio Brunetti, music director and the orchestra’s leader at court. Our concert will feature the first of these concertos.

The Adagio and Fugue in C minor was originally written for a string quartet, however today it is commonly performed by full string orchestras. The composer’s own notes say it is “a short adagio for two violins, viola and bass, for a fugue I wrote a long time ago for two pianos.”

Mozart received his commission to compose the Haffner symphony shortly after the ‘Entführung’s’ premiere in 1782. He had previously composed for the Haffners, and especially for Sigmund Haffner; his K. 250 Serenade too bears the name of the family from Salzburg . Mozart composed another serenade, turning this one into a proper four-movement symphony for the Viennese premiere by leaving out the march and minuet movements.


2 500 HUF / 3 500 HUF / 4 400 HUF / 6 300 HUF / 10 500 HUF

Season tickets

Solti B (2015/16)


Joseph Haydn: Symphony No. 4 in D major, Hob. I:4
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Violin concerto No. 1 in B flat major, K. 207
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Adagio and Fugue in C minor, K. 546
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Symphony No. 35 in D major “Haffner”, K. 385


Gábor Takács-Nagy


Kristóf Baráti, violin