Switch to mobile view

About the program

This year’s special guest at the BFO’s Bridging Europe festival is PHACE, one of the most successful, innovative and multi-faceted contemporary music ensembles in Austria. Apart from performing chamber music by contemporary composers, the group often takes part in musical theatre productions, in dance and non-musical productions, as well as in videos and art installations. Since 2010, PHACE has gone to great lengths to present more frequent crossover projects. The active core of the group consists of eleven instrumentalists. They hire other musicians for specific productions on a temporary basis, and sometimes bring in guests to represent other art forms. As for their contemporary programme at the BFO’s ‘Bridging Europe’ festival, the group has made an effort to present a sample of the work of outstanding composers from Austria’s middle generation to the Hungarian audience.

“On the one hand, it is important that we engage in a wide range of activities, on the other, though, we follow a clear-cut policy, regardless of genre – no matter whether it is something interdisciplinary or something in the range of dance theatre,” said the conductor of PHACE, Simeon Pironkoff, in an interview. Artistic director Reinhard Fuchs emphasizes that the ensemble has an interest in composers “who have developed their own, personal musical idiom and who attempt to broaden their artistic horizons in terms of musical modernity. There is an incredibly wide range of exciting works, and aesthetically they are pretty diverse. Besides keeping up our repertoire, PHACE commissions a number of new pieces every year.” To date, more than two hundred works have been written for them.

Members of the ensemble:

Sylvie Laxroix , flute
Markus Sepperer, oboe
Walter Seebacher, clarinet
Peter Putzer, horn
Thomas Fleißner, trumpet
Stefan Obmann, trombone
Mathilde Hoursiangou, piano
Hsin-Huei Huang, sampler/keyboard
Berndt Thurner, percussion
Ulrike Stadler, percussion
Ivana Pristasova, violin
Sophia Goidinger-Koch, viola
Roland Schueler, cello
Maximilian Ölz, double bass
Michael Öttl, guitar
Alfred Reiter, sound design


Supporting the travel of the ensemble:



3 000 HUF


Georg Friedrich Haas: Nach-Ruf… ent-gleitend…
Olga Neuwirth: Five Daily Miniatures
Joanna Woźny: brown, fizzled out
Beat Furrer: linea dell’orizzonte for chamber ensemble
Bernhard Lang: DW 24 “Loops for Al Jourgensen”


Ernst Kovacic


Ensemble PHACE,
Tim Severloh, countertenor
Lars Mlekusch, saxophone