Switch to mobile view

About the program

Iván Fischer considers his all-Mozart Festival event a concert of contrasts – between the grand, good-natured ‘Prague’ Symphony, whose remarkable emotional depths stretch nonetheless from celebration to tragedy, and the mysterious, deathbed-composed Requiem, darkly coloured yet rich and moving, and undoubtedly one of the greatest choral works in the repertoire.

The Budapest Festival Orchestra is joined by an international line-up of outstanding vocal soloists, as well as the choral expertise of the Edinburgh Festival Chorus.


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Symphony No. 38 in D major
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Requiem


Iván Fischer


Miah Persson, soprano
Barbara Kozelj, mezzo-soprano
Jeremy Ovenden, tenor
Konstantin Wolff, bass