Switch to mobile view

About the program

This season, our Castle Concert will be held in the banquet hall of the beautiful palace in Keszthely, and will include a programme befitting the locale. The first part of the concert features the works of two “wunderkinds.” Rossini, who was 12 in 1804, composed six melodic and virtuoso sonatas of a truly Italian flavour for an unusual ensemble: two violins, a cello and a double bass. The sonatas came out in print only in the middle of the last century, but have since become the bravura pieces of chamber orchestras. Like these sonatas, Mendelssohn’s string symphonies written when he was a child also guarantee success for chamber ensembles. The C minor piece was written in the spring of 1823, when Mendelssohn was only 14. Rather than the formal ideals of his immediate predecessors, the masters of Vienesse Classicism, the composer’s models for this exceptionally impulsive piece are to be sought among the by then antiquated, old symphonies of a German tradition, that of C-Ph. E. Bach and Georg Benda.

In the secOnd part OF the cOncert we present a 20th and a 21st century piece. Rezső Sugár wrote his Divertimento in 1948. The works of this disciple of Kodály are seldom heard in concert halls nowadays, though they are always marked by the distinctive Hungarian colouring that follows Kodály’s tradition and is characteristic of other 20th-century composers in this country. The last piece on our programme, György Orbán’s Udvari táncok (Courtly Dances) was written very recently, in 2011. The five-movement suite, writes the composer, is based on the courtly music of the 17th century, with the introduction of slight anachronisms.


5 000 HUF


Gioacchino Rossini: String Sonata No. 5 in E flat major
Felix Mendelssohn: String Symphony No. 9 in C minor
Rezső Sugár: Divertimento
György Orbán: Udvari Táncok

artistic director

Zsolt Szefcsik