Switch to mobile view

About the program

Telemann probably wrote the violin concerto nicknamed “The Frogs” (Die Relinge) between 1720 and 1723. The piece does deliver on its premise, the strings conjuring up a lake full of amphibians in the first and second movements. (Another of Telemann’s works, the Alster Suite bears further evidence of how inspiring croaking can be, with a movement dedicated to crows and frogs.)

Though Arcangelo Corelli was one of the greatest violin virtuosos of his age, as well as an influential composer and music educator, the oeuvre he left behind is not particularly voluminous. Many considered him their master, and his concerto grossi and chamber sonatas greatly influenced the development of the style of Baroque orchestral music. Our programme now includes the second piece from his Op. 6 series.

Handel is also known to have looked to Corelli’s Op. 6 series, which was known and loved in London at the time, as a model for his own collection of six concerto grossi (Op. 3). Performed now will be the fourth piece.

Busy as he was, from 1729, Bach gave weekly concerts as the head of the Collegium Musicum at Café Zimmermann. For these occasions, he “recycled” his concertos, performing them in a variety of versions. The piece that is marked as No. 1060 in Bach’s own catalogue has survived in the version written for two harpsichords—it was from this that the oboe–violin version, now performed, was reconstructed.

Thanks to the continuously increasing interest in antique music that has marked the past few decades, the concerto – the form in which he composed hundreds of pieces – is no longer the only genre for which Vivaldi’s oeuvre is known. Beside a large number of operas and oratorios, the “Red Priest” left more than three dozen cantatas to posterity. In addition to the popular Concerto in C major, two of these can also be heard at our concert, which features the Baroque gestures that distinguished 18th-century performance practices, having been taught to our male alto singer by Sigrid T’Hooft.


2 500 HUF / 3 500 HUF / 4 400 HUF / 6 300 HUF / 10 500 HUF

Season tickets

Széll (2014/15)


Georg Friedrich Händel: Concerto Grosso No. 4 in F major, Op. 3
Johann Sebastian Bach: Concerto for Oboe and Violin in C minor, BWV 1060
Arcangelo Corelli: Concerto Grosso No. 2 in F major, Op. 6
Antonio Vivaldi: Concerto in C major, RV 117
Antonio Vivaldi: Amor hai vinto, RV 683
Georg Philipp Telemann: Violin Concerto in A major (“The Frogs”), TWV 51:A4
Antonio Vivaldi: Cessate, omai cessate, RV 684


Jonathan Cohen


Xavier Sabata, male alto
Bojan Čičić, violin
Sigrid T’Hooft, baroque gestures