Switch to mobile view

About the program

On the Baroque evening of the Bridging Europe series, the baroque ensemble of the Budapest Festival Orchestra plays German Baroque music with the contribution and leadership of Midori Seiler.

Born in Osaka to a Japanese mother and a Bavarian father, raised in Salzburg and now living in Berlin, Ms Seiler herself personifies a bridge between cultures. The same can also be said of the French-born Georg Muffat (1653–1704), who had Scottish ancestors. He lived in the court of the Sun King, learnt from Lully, and met Corelli, whom he admired, in Italy in the 1680s. He also worked in Prague and Salzburg, and was then Kapellmeister to the bishop of Passau from 1690 to his death. Florilegium primum and Florilegium secundum (first and second bouquet), the series of suites he wrote between 1695 and 1698, are fine illustrations of the interactions between the various musical styles of Europe. Published in 1682, Armonico tributo is a collection of sonatas (or, rather, of concerto grossi that bear the influence of Corelli and Lully).

No less was Handel a “one-man European bridge”, imbibing the music of Italy in the country itself, before settling in London and becoming one of the greatest figures of 18th-century English music. Musicologists believe the new stylistic elements in the 12-piece concerto grosso series (Op. 6) already prefigure the symphonic music of early Classicism. The three arias that close the concert are from Handel’s most popular operas. These beautiful bravura pieces, which demand uncommon virtuosity, offer an insight into the technical skills of the Baroque Era’s operatic singers. Here, they can be enjoyed together with the faithfully reconstructed gestures of the period’s opera stage.


3 400 HUF / 4 200 HUF / 6 000 HUF


Georg Muffat: Suite No. 1, from Florilegium primum
Georg Muffat: Sonata No. 5 in G major, from Armonico tributo
Georg Friedrich Händel: Concerto Grosso No. 6 in G minor, Op. 6
Georg Friedrich Händel: Da tempeste il legno… (Giulio Cesare)
Georg Friedrich Händel: Laschia ch’io pianga (Rinaldo)
Georg Friedrich Händel: I shall adore (Semele)


Midori Seiler


Yeree Suh, soprano