Switch to mobile view

About the program

Slavonic dances

The publication of the first series of Slavonic dances in 1878 brought international acclaim for the composer, who was already popular in his homeland at that time. The Slavonic dances with their variety, overwhelming joy of life and exotic character absolutely fascinated critics. After seeing the piano version for four hands, Simrock, a music publishing house in Berlin, commissioned Dvořák to compose another cycle. Simrock suggested the title Slavonic dances following the example of Brahms’ Hungarian dances. The instrumental dances started their worldwide career that year, casting a spell on audiences in London and Boston after Prague.

Cello concerto


Dvořák composed Legends in 1881. The composer dedicated the series, originally intended to be a piano piece for four hands, to Eduard Hanslick, a friend of Dvořák and Brahms. Hanslick was the most influential music critic in Vienna, born in Prague. Dvořák composed the cycle after encouragement from Simrock. It was a safe bet for the publisher, who hit the jackpot by publishing Slavonic dances.

Symphony No. 8

Dvořák started to compose his Symphony No. 8 in August 1889 in his beloved apartment in the countryside in Vysoka, in a stable financial position and using all of his creative talent. It took him only two-and-a-half weeks to complete the sketches and the piece was completed by 8 November. The premiere in February 1890 was conducted by the composer himself. It was Symphony No. 8 that he conducted in 1891 in Cambridge when receiving the honorary doctoral title of this prestigious university.


Antonín Dvořák: Slavonic Dances op.72 no.6
Antonín Dvořák: Cello concerto
Antonín Dvořák: Legend no.10
Antonín Dvořák: Symphony no.8


Iván Fischer


Daniel-Müller Schott, cello

Our offer

Didn't get a satisfactory result? Do you have further questions about concerts?

Contact us: email: bfofound@bfz.hu phone: +36 1 489 43 30