Switch to mobile view

About the program

Dear Audience,

The Budapest Festival Orchestra played at the Music Academy for the first time thirty years ago. The first concert in the renovated Music Academy Concert Hall on November 7, 2013, will be one of the highlights of our 30th Anniversary Season.

The Mikhail Pletnev, whose genius as pianist, conductor and composer enchants and amazes audiences around the globe, will be the guest soloist of the BFO since Martha Argerich had to step back from her engagement in Budapest for personal reasons. The programme also changed: Pletnev – who returned to his piano carrier just this spring – will play Mozart’s Piano concerto in C major (K. 246). Pletnev did not perform for six years because of the poor quality of modern instruments: his concerts in Budapest has to  be considered special.

The programme otherwise remains the same, the BFO will perform Liszt’s Mazeppa and Mendelssohn’s Symphony No.5, conducted by Gábor Takács-Nagy.

We look forward to meeting you at our concerts.

Liszt: Mazeppa

Liszt composed his symphonic poem in 1851. The literary source of “Mazeppa” is the poem of Victor Hugo published under the same title, which Liszt first encountered in Hugo’s book Les Orientales published in 1829. Whether or not Liszt had known Byron’s poem “Mazeppa”, we do not know. The symphonic poem about the story of the Kozak soldier premiered in 1854 in the Court theatre in Weimar, conducted by the composer himself. Mazeppa was published in 1856 with Breitkopf und Härtel, and was dedicated to Princess Carolyne zu Sayn-Wittgenstein, Liszt’s partner.

Mozart: Piano concerto in C major, K. 246

The piano concerto written between 1773 and 1780 in Salzburg often finds itself behind the 17 Vienna concertos in the last decade of Mozart’s life. Mozart wrote almost every one of his Vienna piano concertos for himself, but some of the Salzburg concertos for his pupils. This is particularly important with regard to the Piano Concerto in C major, which was composed in April 1776 for Countess Antonia Lützow, a talented amateur pianist from Salzburg, and which, of all the Mozart concertos, is the easiest to play by virtue of its piano technique. From a musical perspective, however, the task of the soloist is far from easy: although the gallant ornamentation of the opening movement, the subtleness of the andante reminiscent of an opera scene and the transparent grace of the minuet finale do not require any virtuosity, a good deal of sensitivity and taste is still needed.

Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 5

The Reformation symphony was composed by the young Mendelssohn at the age of twenty-one (1830). In spite of his young age, he composed the Reformation symphony as a mature, enlightened and enthusiastic practical musician. He was inspired by religious wars.
The serial number and the high opus number given to the symphony was because it was only published more than two decades after the death of the composer.

By filling out the sheet placed in the program booklets, you can win 2 tickets for the Orchestra’s Anniversary concert. For more information, click here.


4 400 HUF / 5 700 HUF / 8 000 HUF / 13 000 HUF

Season tickets

Solti A (2013/14)


Franz Liszt: Mazeppa
Mozart: Piano concerto in C major, K. 246
Felix Mendelssohn: Symphony no.5


Gábor Takács-Nagy


Mikhail Pletnev, piano