Switch to mobile view

About the program

W. A. Mozart: Symphony in D major (Paris)

“I had to compose a symphony for the opening of Concerts Spirituels. […] At the rehearsal I was very worried because I had never heard anything worse than that; you cannot imagine how it was rattled off and made fuzzy…” – writes Mozart in his letter dated 3 July 1778 from Paris to his father. From the letter of the twenty-two year-old Mozart it is clear that the orchestra finally made an effort, and after the successful premiere the author had an ice-cream and told his beads before leaving for home. The piece has entertained generations of music lovers since then as the Paris Symphony.

W. A. Mozart: Concert arias

As was customary at the time, composers inserted their own arias into the compositions of colleagues. The arias Mozart inserted into the pieces of his famous contemporaries to “improve” them are nowadays known as concert arias: The Chi sŕ, chi sŕ, qual sia and Bella mia fiamma, addio were composed to accompany the operas of Martín y Soler and Jomelli.

Schubert: German Dances

Schubert was sixteen years old when he composed his five German dances in 1813 for a string quartet. It is highly likely that the Schubert family played them at home. In the family quartet the brothers of the composer, Ignaz and Ferdinand played the violin, Franz played the viola, whereas the cello part was played by their father.

Haydn: London Symphony

Symphony No. 104 in D major (London Symphony) is the last piece of the gigantic symphony output of the composer, which was written during his second stay in London. It premiered on 4 May 1795. The composer was paid four thousand guldens for this evening. “Such a thing is only possible in England”, he noted in his diary.


3 400 HUF / 4 200 HUF / 6 000 HUF / 10 000 HUF

Season tickets

Ormándy A (2013/14)


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Symphony no.31 K.297
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Chi sa, chi sa, qual sia K.582
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Ruhe sanft, mein holdes Leben (from Zaide)
Franz Schubert: German Dances
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Bella mia fiamma, addio K.528
Joseph Haydn: Symphony no.104    


Gábor Takács-Nagy


Polina Pasztircsák, soprano