Switch to mobile view

About the program

The price of the ticket includes a glass of champagne and a guided tour of the château.

The Festival Orchestra group starts at 5.30pm from the entrance hall of the château.

How to get there?

By bus 169E from Budapest, Őrs vezér tér, underground terminal to Pécel, Kossuth tér
By train from Keleti railway station and Gödöllő to the Pécel railway station
By scheduled VOLÁN bus, Budapest-Pécel-Isaszeg-Dány
By car on the M0 motorway

CARL PHILIPP EMANUEL BACH: 12 Kleine Stücke (12 short pieces)

Carl Philipp Emanuel composed these short pieces as a sort of court chamber music, because according to his standards they were easy and entertaining.  Frederick the Great most probably participated in their performance, maybe together with his favourite flute player, Quantz. Hence the orchestration for two flutes (though the composer allows violins to substitute flutes) and cembalo (harpsichord). The pieces date back to 1758.  Haydn was 26, Mozart 2 years old.  Carl Philipp Emanuel, however, had already composed classical music, built deliberately from simple, transparent and symmetrical elements, decorated with minuets, polonaises, and other character pieces.  Only the garlands of melodies in the last two miniatures indicate that we are still in Potsdam and not yet in Vienna.

EVARISTO FELICE DALL’ABACO: Concerto in D minor and G minor, Op. 2. No. 1 and 5; Concerto in E minor, Op. 5. No. 3.

The composer born in Verona entered the service of Maximilian Emmanuel II, Elector of Bavaria in Munich in 1704. His employer, who was forced to emigrate to Brussels shortly after this date, took his orchestra with him.   It was here that Dall’Abaco established contact with the Roger publishing house in Amsterdam, which published his Op. 2 series in 1712.  The cycle of 12 pieces consists of three parts, the first piece of each is a four-movement composition following the structure of church sonatas.   The composer might have got acquainted with the musical style of the French court, the influence of which can be clearly identified in the E minor piece of the Op. 5 cycle, which was composed in 1715, in Munich, and which is on our concert programme.

ANTONIO ROSETTI: Notturno in D major

The 3-movement Notturno in D major for flute, two horns and strings is a genuinely entertaining piece of music.  In the first movement (Allegro) cheerful and bubbly violin and flute runs caress the reserved horns that play thirds, and in the meantime the cello also has the opportunity to play a nice solo.  In the second movement – Romance – based on the variations of maggiore-minore, the flute is assigned the role of the soloist, whereas in the light, 6/8 final Rondo all the instruments can present their virtuosity.

CARL DITTERSDORF: Sinfonie in A – “The Transformation of the Lycian peasants into Frogs”

The comic opera – Doktor und Apotheker – of the composer, who was extremely popular with the contemporary audience, was the most frequently performed opera in Hungary in the last decade of the 18th century. His pieces, however, have nearly fallen completely into oblivion by now.  In the first part of the 1780s he composed 6 symphonies inspired by Metamorphoses by Ovid. He selected 6 of the more than one hundred stories of the original work.   The peculiar feature of the last piece of the series, which is on our concert programme, is that the composer uses flutes instead of the oboes strongly preferred in that era.

Mention should be made of the interesting fact that the venue of our concert, the grand hall of the Ráday château in Pécel, is decorated with murals from 1766, which also depict scenes from the Metamorphoses, accompanied by poems of Gedeon Ráday, written in ornate Hungarian language in the age of the Hungarian linguistic revival, a movement between 1770-1872 to modernise the Hungarian language.


10 000 HUF


Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach: 12 Small Pieces, WQ 81
Evaristo Felice Dall’Abaco: Concerto in D minor and in G minor, Op.2 No.1 & 5
Evaristo Felice Dall’Abaco: Concerto in E minor, Op.5 No.3
Carl Ditters von Dittersdorf: Sinfonie in A
Francesco Antonio Rosetti: Notturno in D


Zsolt Szefcsik