Switch to mobile view

About the program

Bach’s first serious involvement with concert work coincided with his employment in Weimar (1708-1717). Up until that time, he had been a court organist and kapellmeister.  During this period, he became familiar with Vivaldi’s concertos and also transcribed some concertos by Telemann and Benedetto Marcello. While he had written his own first concert works as court organist and conductor in the Köthen, only two violin sonatas and two duo concertos survive from that early period. In any case, it is certain that he wrote more concert works during this subsequent period.

The Pannon Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by András Vass and with the participation of three soloists, presents three of Bach’s concert works – for solo, duo and trio piano. In 1729, he was appointed accompanist for the Collegium Musicum, which held weekly concerts at Gottfried Zimmermann’s coffee house, the Café Zimmermann. Bach wrote cello sonatas for these recitals.  Earlier compositions served as models for the works. The concert work in F minor could easily be the transcription of a piece for violin lost in the meantime. The C minor work for two pianos is practically a duo concerto written for two violins or a violin and oboe.  About the innovation of the third work, the piano trio C major, Marianne Pándi has written the following: “In this piece, the presence of the orchestra is greater than in the concert pieces written for cello so far. Indeed, in the slow movement, the roles switch; three cellos accompany the orchestra! Still, the sound of the solo instruments is no less rich and dense. The conductor has them play together for most of the piece. We encounter a true concert format in the last movement, when the solo (alternating with the whole orchestra – tutti) is heard on each of the three cellos one by one.”

This event is co-produced by Budapest Festival Orchestra and the Palace of the Arts.


990 HUF


Piano concerto in F minor, BWV 1056
Concerto for two pianos in F minor, BWV 1060
Concerto for three pianos in C major, BWV 1064  


Zoltán Fejérvári - piano
András Kemenes - piano
János Palojtay – piano