Switch to mobile view

About the program

During his years in Köthen (1717-1723), Bach wrote violin sonatas, about half of which remain to posterity. In 1719,   he composed his duo concerto in D minor for two solo instruments – for either violin and oboe or two violins – out of which he also prepared an two-piano adaptation for  his Collegium Musicum concerts held at the Café Zimmermann during his Leipzig years.

“Magnificat anima mea Dominum” (My soul doth magnify the Lord) is the opening line of the sacred canticle set during The Visitation, when the Virgin Mary addresses Elizabeth, who is expecting. This passage from the Gospel of Luke and all of the musical works based upon this Marian hymn are named after the first word, “Magnificat”. The history of sacred music abounds with musical settings of hymns to the Virgin Mary, but the most well-known of all is undoubtedly Bach’s Magnificant, which remains to us in two versions. It first premiered in Leipzig on Christmas Day, 1723. This work in E flat major still featured – as interludes – four movements, two in German and two in Latin, which Bach later omitted from the piece when he revived it in the late 1720s and early 1730s.  This sublime and enchanting work by Johann Sebastian Bach will conclude the Bach marathon program.

This event is co-produced by Budapest Festival Orchestra and the Palace of the Arts.


990 HUF


Double violin concerto, BWV 1043
Magnificat, BWV 243


Budapest Festival Orchestra
Saint Ephraim Male Choir (artistic director, Tamás Bubnó)
Johannes Pramsohler, violin
Marlene Ito, violin
Dominique Labelle, soprano
Kai Wessel, counter-tenor
Zoltán Megyesi, tenor
Peter Harvey, baritone