Switch to mobile view

About the program

Bach’s six Brandeburg concertos are among the best-known works in music literature. The name “Brandeburg” is thanks to Philipp Spitta, Bach’s 19th century biographer.  In 1721, the composer selected selected from his earlier work six concertos featuring a variety of scoring and solo instruments. He then sent them, with a recommendation in French, to Christian Ludwig, the Margrave of Brandeburg-Schwedt, whom he had met in 1719. For the margrave’s quite capable orchestra, performing the works would not have been a problem. The concertos themselves originate from the period beginning 1717, commissioned by the great music patron and ruler of Anhalt-Köthen, Prince Leopold.  The six pieces in the series show remarkable variety. Each work is either a concerto (for solo instruments) or a concerto grosso (for groups of instruments). The fifth Brandeburg piece represents the greatest innovation. Although the cellos receive the first solo part here, the work can be recognized as the first concerto for keyboard, the ancestor of all piano concertos.

In our concert, the first three Brandeburg concertos will be heard on modern instruments in a performance by the Budapest Strings.

This event is co-produced by Budapest Festival Orchestra and the Palace of the Arts.


990 HUF


Brandernburg concerto No. 3, 2 and 1 – on modern instruments


János Pilz, violin
Veronika Oros, flute
Béla Horváth, oboe
Márton Belej, oboe
Edit Budai, oboe
Szabolcs Zempléni, horn
János Benyus, horn
Balázs Nemes, trumpet
István Hartenstein, bassoon
Judit Varga, harpsichord